Saturday, March 25, 2023
No menu items!
HomeNewsUnemployed P1 And ECDE Teachers Enrol In DPTE As Ministry Targets 220,000...

Unemployed P1 And ECDE Teachers Enrol In DPTE As Ministry Targets 220,000 More In Readiness For CBC

Unemployed P1 And ECDE Teachers Enrol For DPTE As Ministry Targets 220,000 More In Readiness For CBC.

Primary school and early childhood education teachers who are unemployed began enrolling in colleges yesterday for a one-year diploma program to prepare them for the new curriculum.

The Education Ministry wants the trainees, who are mostly P1 certificate holders, to pursue the course in preparedness for the Competency-Based Curriculum (CBC) that is being implemented.

Over 30 teacher training colleges (TTCs) have been without students since January, and the program will give some of them a fresh life.

Also Read:

The last P1 certificate trainees graduated in December 2020, and the first diploma in primary teacher education (DPTE) cohort was enrolled in June this year.

However, the DPTE class was unable to attract enough students to fill the colleges. Only five colleges were chosen from among the 400 applicants: Thogoto, Machakos, Igoji, Baringo, and Migori.

Julius Jwan, the Principal Secretary for Basic Education, stated that the skills upgrading scheme is aimed at serving teachers from the Teachers Service Commission (TSC), county governments, and private primary schools.

Jwan said teachers will be required to participate in a one-year upgrade program.  Private schools have employed roughly 150,000 trained teachers, while county governments have employed thousands more.

The one-year skills upgrading program is aimed at more than 220,000 unemployed trained teachers.

To be eligible for DPTE, Form Four students must have received at least a C-plain in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) or its equivalent as determined by the Kenya National Examinations Council (Knec).

Students must also have a C-plain in all cluster subjects. Diploma trainees will only be able to specialize in three subjects in the learning areas in which they wish to specialize.

The areas of specialization are divided into four groups, but teachers will only choose one subject from each group.

Kenya Sign Language, Indigenous Languages, and Foreign Languages (German, French, Arabic, and Mandarin) are cluster one subjects in the curriculum designs (Chinese).

Mathematics, home science, agriculture, and science and technology are cluster two subjects, while social studies and religious education are cluster three subjects (Christian, Hindu, Islam).

Teachers who choose cluster four subjects will focus on art and craft, as well as music. English, Kiswahili, physical and health education, and Kenya Sign Language for the hearing-impaired are all required subjects.

CBC was taught to 1,166 teacher training college (TTC) tutors in public and private institutions last month.



​​​​​For more Teachers Update

Teachers Updates Telegram Group

Join the @TeachersUpdates Telegram channel



Most Popular