Wednesday, March 22, 2023
No menu items!
HomeNewsTSC to Begin Biometric Registration for all Teachers

TSC to Begin Biometric Registration for all Teachers

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) is set to begin the biometric registration for teachers across the country.

The registration under the Teachers Biometric Data Harmonisation program will start on April 22, 2021, when schools resume for the 3rd term.

The exercise was originally programmed to begin in May 2020 but it was held due to the Covid-19 pandemic that saw the closure of schools across the country.

“The biometric registration shall entail validation of data of teachers in all public primary and secondary schools, Teacher Training Colleges, Centre for Mathematics, Science and Technology Education in Africa (CEMASTEA) and Kenya Institute of Special Education (KISE),” the commission revealed.

The biometric registration of teachers is directed at removing out ghost workers with all the teachers under TSC’s payroll required to undergo fresh registration to verify their delivery, utilisation and teaching specialisation in public schools.

All tutors under the TSC will undergo fresh listing from the school level. in The exercise will cover all the 321,811 teachers in 32,004 basic education institutions across the country according to the TSC Deputy Commission Secretary Kennedy Mulunda.

“We want to update the existing information on the teachers’ biodata and validate their requirement in all public schools and teacher training colleges by size and learner enrollment,” he stated.

Apart from teachers using fingerprints to capture details, all teachers will produce their national ID card or birth certificate and any other applicable identification documents such as designation letters.

Data for teachers in special programs and curriculum support officers in all zones will also be captured. The exercise will also unveil teacher distribution based on subject combinations and will expose staffing gaps that will inform training needs for various teaching areas.

At least 7 counties will participate in the pilot roll-out of the program with the national exercise in August/ September 2021. These counties include Uasin Gishu, Homa Bay, Bungoma, Nyeri, Kilifi, Kitui and Garissa.




Most Popular