Sunday, March 26, 2023
No menu items!
HomeMerit ListsRift Valley TSC Merit List - July 2022 Shortlisted

Rift Valley TSC Merit List – July 2022 Shortlisted

Rift Valley TSC Merit List – July 2022 Shortlisted

Before the 2013 Kenyan general election, Rift Valley Province (Swahili: Mkoa wa Bonde la Ufa) was one of Kenya’s eight provinces bordering Uganda.

The Rift Valley Province was Kenya’s largest and one of its most economically important provinces.

The Kenya Rift Valley, which runs through it and gives the province its name, was dominant.

According to the 2009 Census, the former province had an area of 182,505.1 square kilometers (45,098,000 acres; 70,465.6 square miles) and a population of 10,006,805, making it the country’s largest and most populous province.

The majority of the provincial population lived along the border between former Nairobi and Nyanza Province. The town of Nakuru served as the capital.

Rift Valley Region Includes The Following Subcounties

  • Baringo County
  • Bomet County
  • Elgeyo Marakwet County
  • Kajiado County
  • Kericho County
  • Laikipia County
  • Nakuru County
  • Nandi County
  • Narok County
  • Samburu County
  • Trans Nzoia County
  • Turkana County
  • Uasin Gishu County
  • West Pokot County

Rift Valley TSC Merit List – July 2022 Shortlisted

The Great Rift Valley, which runs south through Kenya from Lake Turkana in the north, has several distinct geographical features, including the Elgeyo escarpment, which is a popular tourist attraction.

Aside from the Rift Valley, the area is notable for the extinct volcanoes Mount Longonot and Mount Suswa, as well as Lake Baringo, Lake Bogoria, Lake Magadi, Lake Nakuru, and Lake Naivasha, the Suguta Valley, and Lake Turkana.

Precambrian basement underpins much of Kenya, while Tertiary volcanic cover Mesozoic sediments in the Kenya rift basin (a typical extensional basin) (Recently these sediments have been considered for oil exploration).

The sedimentary basins evolved along the Anza trough through extension tectonics during the major Gondwanaland breakup from the Late Paleozoic to the Early Tertiary periods.

The region experienced intermittent uplift and subsidence along major boundary faults during the Miocene Period, which was accompanied by a large outpouring of lava flows.


In the vicinity of Lake Turkana, the Anza trough intersects the modern rift valley.

Rifting is still occurring today, primarily in the north, where active volcanoes are more common.

Rift Valley TSC Merit List – July 2022 Shortlisted


Most Popular