Wednesday, May 25, 2022
HomeNewsPresident Kenyatta Nominates Jamleck Muturi and Alfred Otieno Oyucho as chairperson and...

President Kenyatta Nominates Jamleck Muturi and Alfred Otieno Oyucho as chairperson and member of TSC respectively. 

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Jamleck Muturi and Alfred Otieno Oyucho as chairperson and member of the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) respectively.

Jamleck Muturi will replace Dr, Lydia Nzomo who was the first person to chair TSC after it was made a constitutional commission. In total, TSC has 9members with one representing each region of the defunct provinces.

Speaker Justin Muturi on Tuesday introduced the matter to the Education committee to vet the applicants under the provisions of the law.

“The Committee should notify the nominees and the general public of the time and place for holding the approval hearings, and upon conclusion of the hearings. table their Report in the House in good time to enable the House to consider the matter within the stipulated timelines,” the speaker said.


Jamleck Muturi was competing with 7 other candidates who attended interviews on 25th of March 2021.

These candidates were:

1 Dr. Joash Aloo from Homabay county

2 Jamleck Muturi John from Embu county

3 Samuel Gitonga Maina from Nyeri county

4 Dr. Lucy Mugambi from Meru county

5 David K. Koech from Nandi county

6 Dr. Mutoro Mumelo, PhD (HSC) from Bungoma county

7 David Kung’u Njoroge from Nakuru county

Members of Parliament (MPs) are expected to conclude the process in 21 days. Mr. Oyucho has been serving as the commission’s lawyer until his appointment. He led all cases against the Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) and has been effective in neutralizing the former giant union.

Meanwhile, MPs are attempting to suspend sittings until May 4 following Uhuru’s directives to contain the spread of Covid-19. Leader of Majority Amos Kimunya moved a motion for the alteration of the House calendar to adjourn the sittings.

“This House resolves to suspend all its ordinary sittings to Thursday, April 29 and resume ordinary sittings on May 4.”




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular


error: Content is protected !!